Contact Us for a Free Consultation (707) 575-7141

Statute of Limitations


In most personal injury cases, you need to take legal action sooner rather than later. If you are injured in a car accident, you generally must initiate legal proceedings within two years from the date of the accident. The time you have to initiate litigation is spelled out in the California Statute of Limitations.

The statute of limitations is legally defined as a law that puts limits on the time in which a personal injury victim will have to take legal action to seek compensation. Although a few legal exceptions may allow for detraction from this rule, in general, the statute of limitations prevents injured persons from acting upon their right to legally pursue a case and obtain monetary damages.

The law is complex and varies from state to state and sometimes from case to case. If you or someone you know was injured due to someone's negligence, contact an experienced Santa Rosa personal injury attorney to speak about the specifics of your case. At The Law Offices of Freeman & Freeman, your initial consultation is free. Call (707) 575-7141.

The following are some general statute of limitations guidelines for California:

  • Personal injury — 2 years from the date of the accident
  • Injury to personal property — 3 years
  • Defamation — 1 year
  • Product liability (injuries due to defective products) — 2 years

California and other states enact Statute of Limitations because with time, evidence can get lost, memories fade and people want to get on with their lives.


Not all injuries and illnesses are easily identifiable at the time that an accident occurs. For this reason, the Discovery Rule permits the filing of a lawsuit even after the time that is stipulated in the statute of limitations has elapsed. The Discovery Rule generally calls for a lawsuit to be filed within a certain amount of time after the injury itself is discovered, or within the time period for which the injury should have been discovered. Injury victims should keep in mind, however, that the Discovery Rule is limited by time restrictions as well, so involving an attorney in the matter as early on as possible could be of great benefit to your case.


Choose a California lawyer who can help you build the strongest possible claim. Call (707) 575-7141 today. At The Law Offices of Freeman & Freeman, we put experience and resources to work for California personal injury victims. Your consultation is free. There is no obligation. Contact us today. Tell them you mean business.

Free, Confidential Legal Consultation
Our team is ready to confidentially review your case for free.
  • This field is required.
  • This field is required.
  • This field is required.
  • This field is required.

Contact Us Today

The Law Offices of Freeman & Freeman is committed to answering your questions about Personal Injury and Nursing Home Abuse law issues in Santa Rosa and throughout Northern California. We offer a free consultation and we'll gladly discuss your case with you at your convenience. Contact us today to schedule an appointment.

Santa Rosa Personal Injury Attorneys
Mon: 08:00am - 05:00pm
Tue: 08:00am - 05:00pm
Wed: 08:00am - 05:00pm
Thu: 08:00am - 05:00pm
Fri: 08:00am - 05:00pm